Webcasts

Live Webcasts and Webinars on orthopaedic topics.

Orthopaedics: See a live Internet broadcast from Central DuPage Hospital features a Zimmer Revision Hip Procedure utilizing the ZMR® Hip System XL Taper Stem and the Trabecular Metal™ Acetabular Revision System at 2:00 pm CST (20:00 UTC) Advancements in surgical techniques, especially as they relate to revision hip procedures in the field of orthopaedics, continue to provide surgeons with exciting new treatment options and contribute to positive patient outcomes. One of these advancements is Total RevisionAbility, a Zimmer system of comprehensive, intraoperative, solution-making capabilities in revision total hip arthroplasty. Created by the world's finest designers and surgeons, Total RevisionAbility combines expert support, instrumentation, and components designed specifically to address the unpredictability of revision THA in the OR.

Read more ...

Pediatrics: Children's Hospital Boston surgical experts will perform a complex titanium rib procedure ( VEPTR™) on a 3-year-old, live at 10:00 am ET (15:00 UTC) Thursday, Nov. 10, at 10:00 a.m. EST, surgeons at Children's Hospital Boston will implant a vertical expandable prosthetic titanium rib (VEPTR™) in a pediatric patient during a live webcast. The webcast is part of Children's ongoing effort to bring its cutting edge care and technology to specialists and referring physicians around the world and allow consumers to see the latest and most innovative medical treatments available.  

Read more ...

Orthopaedics: Zimmer® MIS™ Sub-Vastus Total Knee Arthoplasty (TKA) from El Dorado Hospital, Tuscon, AZ. Join surgeons from the Tuscon Orthopaedic Institute in a live webcast at 3:00 PM PDT/7:00 PM EDT (23:00 UTC) This live Internet broadcast from El Dorado Hospital features a Zimmer MIS sub-vastus total knee replacement surgery. The procedure uses a sub-vastus approach and requires an incision of only 9 to 14 cm, compared with 20 to 30 cm used in a standard knee replacement arthroplasty. Among the goals of this minimally invasive technique are shorter hospital stays, lower blood loss, faster rehabilitation and a more cosmetically appealing surgical scar.

Read more ...

Diabetic Foot Ulcers: Foot ulcers, which are casually referred to as foot sores or foot blisters, are a common problem in diabetic foot care. See a live sugical demonstation, product technical overview and discussion on Medicare reimbursement for GRAFTJACKET® Ulcer Repair Matrix at 7 pm CT (00:00 UTC) from Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science. Wright Medical Group, Inc. (NASDAQ: WMGI), a global orthopaedic medical device company, is pleased to sponsor a live webcast covering diabetic foot ulcer treatment utilizing the Company's GRAFTJACKET® Ulcer Repair Matrix. The live webcast will take place Thursday, October 13, 2005 at 7:00 p.m. Central Time The event will also be archived on this site for twelve months.

Read more ...

Orthopaedics: Presbyterian Hospital will feature a Zimmer MIS Anterolateral Hip Procedure in a live webcat at 4:00 PM MT / 6:00 PM ET (22:00 UTC). The procedure is a muscle sparing approach to total hip arthroplasty. The 6-10 cm incision courses between the glutei and the tensor fascia lata muscles directly to the hip capsule. This intermuscular interval through a small incision provides good exposure for total hip replacement and preserves muscle integrity so that rehabilitation may be rapid and the posterior capsule can remain intact, easing concerns about posterior dislocation. Among the goals of this minimally invasive technique are shorter hospital stays, lower blood loss, and a more cosmetically appealing surgical scar.  

Read more ...

On Friday, September 16th from 2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. EDT (1:00 p.m. CDT) Stryker Orthopaedics will present a live Webcast of a Total Hip Arthroplasty featuring the Accolade ® Hip System with New Expanded Size Options direct from the Surgical Decisions and Advancements Meeting in Chicago. The Webcast will provide an opportunity to gain a practical understanding of how the Accolade Hip System provides a balance of improved range of motion and enhanced patient quality of live. The procedure will show how the standard and extended offset options allow the surgeon to enhance soft tissue tensioning without significantly affecting leg length. The goal is to enhance patient quality of life by improving joint stability and range of motion.  

Read more ...

Orthopaedics: Dr. David Harwood will perform a Computer-Assisted Hip Replacement Surgery. See this live at 2:00 PM EDT (18:00 UTC). Because a patient's bone arrangements are specific to the individual and can change during surgery, a computer is used to constantly keep track of critical information such as the position of the patient's leg and pelvis to help ensure the surgeon accurately inserts the implant. A more accurate placement of the implant ensures better outcomes for the patient. This procedure is also less invasive, which means smaller scarring, less physical therapy and a quicker return to normal activities for the patient. View Webcast

Knee Surgery: Virtual reality is aiding orthopaedic surgeons at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital in replacing arthritis-stricken single compartments of a knee without the patient having to endure a long surgery and recovery involved with a total knee replacement. Computer-assisted, partial knee replacement makes it easier for orthopaedic surgeons to replace diseased sections of the knee without performing a total knee replacement, said Peter F. Sharkey, M.D., associate professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, Jefferson Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University.  

Read more ...

Orthopaedics: Vanderbilt University Medical Center presents a minimally-invasive, two-incision hip replacement surgery in a live webcast at 4:00 pm CDT. One of the main reasons patients opt to forgo hip replacement surgery is the pain associated with recovery. But now Vanderbilt University Medical Center offers a revolutionary minimally-invasive procedure that is changing patients' perceptions, and offering a much faster recovery.

Read more ...

Knee: Total Knee Arthroplasty Featuring the new Vanguard ™ Knee System from Biomet, Inc. ® On Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005 at 7pm EST (00:00 UTC / 8:00 am China 23.3.05),witness Adolph Lombardi, Jr., MD, FACS, perform a total knee replacement using the new Vanguard™ Complete Knee System with innovative Premier™ instrumentation from Biomet Orthopedics, Inc Beginning with the AGC®, and continuing with the Maxim® and Ascent™, Biomet's total knee systems have a rich clinical heritage. With the introduction of the Vanguard™ Complete Knee System, Biomet has taken this proven clinical heritage and combined it with state-of-the-art design features to produce the most comprehensive total knee system available today.

Read more ...

Submit Community Content

If you have orthopedic information that you would like to share with the Orthogate Community, please register/login and submit your news, event, job, article, case or workshop from the Submit Content menu under the My Account area. Learn more!