Webcasts

Live Webcasts and Webinars on orthopaedic topics.

Orthopaedics: The Orthopaedic Specialty Center at Woodwinds Health Campus in Woodbury, Minnesota will host a demonstration of the most state-of-the-art approach to total knee replacement during a live surgery on the Internet. The web cast will be live from Woodwinds Health Campus, a member of the HealthEast Care System, on May 16, at 3:00 p.m. CDT, (20:00 UTC) During a total knee replacement, plastic and metal parts are used to replace injured or damaged parts of the knee. Until now, a doctor had to rely on his or her experience to remove bone, replace it with implanted material and align the plastic or metal material with the bone. Since each patient's knee is different, this can prove to be challenging. Computer-assisted knee replacements offer better outcomes for patients and more accuracy for doctors.

Read more ...

Orthopaedics: Wright Medical Group, Inc. (NASDAQ: WMGI), a global orthopaedic medical device company, will sponsor two live webcasts detailing tendon and ligament applications of the Company's GRAFTJACKET® Regenerative Tissue Matrix in the foot and ankle. The live webcasts will take place Wednesday, May 3 at 7:00 p.m. Eastern Time and again at 7:00 p.m. Pacific Time. These events will also be archived on this site for twelve months. These webcasts are the second in a series designed to educate foot and ankle surgeons on the versatility and potential clinical benefits of this exciting technology.  

Read more ...

Methodist Healthcare will host a live surgical Webcast at the Methodist North Hospital Total Joint Center on Thursday, April 27, 2006, 4 p.m., CST, showcasing a total knee replacement, with an incision measuring only 3 to 5 inches in length. The Webcast will feature Michael Lynch, M.D., performing the surgery, with Blake Ragsdale, M.D., narrating the surgery. Both orthopaedic surgeons are with Memphis Orthopaedic Group. In addition to watching Dr. Lynch perform the live knee replacement surgery, viewers will learn more about total knee replacement surgery and hear from a patient who has undergone total knee replacement surgery with Dr. Lynch as their surgeon. Viewers will also be able to email questions to the surgeon who is narrating the surgery.

Read more ...

MIS Total Knee: Web Event Will Include Live Surgery, Technical Overview and Discussion of Wright's Minimal Incision Surgery (MIS) Featuring the ODYSSEY™ MIS Anterior Rough Cut Surgical Instrumentation for the ADVANCE® Knee Replacement System Wright Medical Group, Inc. (NASDAQ: WMGI), a global orthopaedic medical device company, is pleased to sponsor a live webcast covering minimal incision surgery (MIS) for total knee replacement. The live webcast will take place Tuesday, March 28, 2006 at 7:00 p.m. Central Time. The event will also be archived on this site for twelve months.  

Read more ...

BOSTON, MA - On Thursday, March 9, 2006 at 4:30 p.m., Brigham and Women's Hospital broadcasted a live arthroscopic rotator cuff repair - a procedure that preserves the deltoid attachment and results in improved patient outcomes and faster recovery time. Laurence D. Higgins, MD, Chief of Sports Medicine and Chief of the Shoulder Service within the Department of Orthopedic Surgery at Brigham and Women's Hospital, performed the procedure, while Brigham and Women's Hospital orthopedic surgeon Scott D. Martin, MD, narrated during the webcast.  

Read more ...

Hip Surgery: Biomet Inc., and the Texas Center for Joint Replacement present the Microplasty® ASI (Anterior Supine Intermuscular) Hip Procedure from Presbyterian Hospital of Plano. Join Roger H. Emerson, Jr., MD, from The Texas Center for Joint Replacement for this live webcast at 4:00 pm CT (22:00 UTC) The anterior supine hip approach is truly minimally invasive since no muscles are cut during exposure of the hip joint. This will permit the most rapid return to activities possible after hip surgery and should minimize some of the muscle atrophy seen with the posterior approach, which necessitates splitting of the Gluteus Maximus and cutting some of the hip rotators. The risk of hip dislocation is minimized by the anterior approach since the posterior soft tissue sling that supports the hip is flexion is less disturbed. View Webcast 

Orthopaedics: Stryker Trauma presents a Gamma3™ Trochanteric nail procedure on a cadaver from the Meri facility in Memphis TN. The market leading the Gamma3 is the smallest implant of its type and has been successfully used in thousands of surgeries since its launch in late 2004.  The system is based on 15 years of Gamma Nail experience and is the third generation of intramedullary short and long Gamma fixation nails. See this live at 5:00 PM CST/ 6:00 PM EST (23:00 UTC) The system offers a truly M.I.S. approach for treating Hip Fractures where applicable which may reduce OR time through the used of newly designed instruments and new instrumentation.

Read more ...

Orthopaedics: See a live Internet broadcast from Central DuPage Hospital features a Zimmer Revision Hip Procedure utilizing the ZMR® Hip System XL Taper Stem and the Trabecular Metal™ Acetabular Revision System at 2:00 pm CST (20:00 UTC) Advancements in surgical techniques, especially as they relate to revision hip procedures in the field of orthopaedics, continue to provide surgeons with exciting new treatment options and contribute to positive patient outcomes. One of these advancements is Total RevisionAbility, a Zimmer system of comprehensive, intraoperative, solution-making capabilities in revision total hip arthroplasty. Created by the world's finest designers and surgeons, Total RevisionAbility combines expert support, instrumentation, and components designed specifically to address the unpredictability of revision THA in the OR.

Read more ...

Pediatrics: Children's Hospital Boston surgical experts will perform a complex titanium rib procedure ( VEPTR™) on a 3-year-old, live at 10:00 am ET (15:00 UTC) Thursday, Nov. 10, at 10:00 a.m. EST, surgeons at Children's Hospital Boston will implant a vertical expandable prosthetic titanium rib (VEPTR™) in a pediatric patient during a live webcast. The webcast is part of Children's ongoing effort to bring its cutting edge care and technology to specialists and referring physicians around the world and allow consumers to see the latest and most innovative medical treatments available.  

Read more ...

Orthopaedics: Zimmer® MIS™ Sub-Vastus Total Knee Arthoplasty (TKA) from El Dorado Hospital, Tuscon, AZ. Join surgeons from the Tuscon Orthopaedic Institute in a live webcast at 3:00 PM PDT/7:00 PM EDT (23:00 UTC) This live Internet broadcast from El Dorado Hospital features a Zimmer MIS sub-vastus total knee replacement surgery. The procedure uses a sub-vastus approach and requires an incision of only 9 to 14 cm, compared with 20 to 30 cm used in a standard knee replacement arthroplasty. Among the goals of this minimally invasive technique are shorter hospital stays, lower blood loss, faster rehabilitation and a more cosmetically appealing surgical scar.

Read more ...

Submit Community Content

If you have orthopedic information that you would like to share with the Orthogate Community, please register/login and submit your news, event, job, article, case or workshop from the Submit Content menu under the My Account area. Learn more!