Road Bikes

• ajq2009
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
11 years 10 months ago - 11 years 10 months ago #29371 by ajq2009
Road Bikes was created by ajq2009
I'm a novice to the world of road biking. After years of deliberation, I've decided to bite the bullet and get into the sport. Knowing that this is a popular sport among orthopaedic surgeons, I thought I'd post some inquiries. If you have any input, I'd love to hear it.

Right now, I'm budgeting roughly $1200-1500 for a bike (although I'm thinking of going higher, if need be, for the right bike.) I'm 6'1, weight 205 lbs and am looking to use the bike initially as a weekend warrior, but may consider racing at some point. What bikes would you recommend? I know its a broad question, but it's a start.

I have tested about 10 bikes, and found 2 I liked a lot. One is a Felt Z45; it came out in 2009, and is all carbon. I don't know much about components yet, so I didn't even ask what was on the bike. The price is $1500. The other bike I tried today was a BH Speedrom-- loved it! But I'm debating whether the difference between the speedrom and Z45 (they felt very similar to me) is worth the additional $800.00. Any toughts from any experienced road bikers out there?

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
11 years 10 months ago - 11 years 10 months ago #15512 by
Replied by on topic most important is fit
whatever you do make sure the bike fits you well. most shops can help with this. you can always upgrade the components. Felt makes some good bikes. have fun.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
11 years 1 month ago - 11 years 1 month ago #18480 by
Replied by on topic road bike