Bone and Joints

The spine is composed of 24 vertebrae that are organized into four regions: cervical, thoracic, lumbar, and sacral (Fig. 41).

Figure 41
Sagittal view of the spine. Note the lordosis of the cervical and lumbar regions and kyphosis of the thoracic spine.

There are seven cervical vertebrae.

Two of these are distinctly shaped: C1, the atlas (which holds up the globe of the head) and C2, the axis. Read more